By Speakwise TeamNovember 5, 2026

Pricing verified: August 28, 2026 by Speakwise Team

Plaud Review (2026): Is the AI Recorder Worth It?

TL;DR

Plaud review: it is a solid dedicated recorder for in-person meetings, with long battery life and a new connector for ChatGPT and Claude. Plaud fits people who want hardware built for long days. Plaud is not a fit if you would rather use the iPhone you already carry, like Speakwise does, with no extra device.

SpeakwiseSpeakwise - AI Note Taker

Never miss a key detail

  • Smart summaries and action items.
  • Speaker diarization labels who said what.
  • Unlimited premium transcription.
  • Auto-sync to Notion.
  • Record offline, even with no signal.
Download Speakwise on the App Store

Plaud Review: The Short Answer

Plaud review: yes, Plaud is worth it if you want a dedicated recorder built for long meetings and lectures, and you do not mind carrying and charging a second device. The lineup spans the $159 Plaud Note, the $189 Note Pro, the $159 NotePin, and the $179 NotePin S, each paired with a free or paid AI plan for transcription and summaries. It fits people whose important conversations happen away from a screen: clinicians, lawyers, consultants, and students recording lectures. It is a weaker fit if your conversations happen mostly on Zoom or Teams, or if you would rather not buy extra hardware at all. Speakwise makes a competing iPhone app, so we say plainly who each one fits best.


Plaud Review at a Glance

Plaud review in one line: Plaud is a dedicated AI voice recorder lineup built for in-person conversations, with long battery life, at the cost of an extra device to buy and a subscription for heavy use.

Plaud
What it isA lineup of AI voice recorders (Note, Note Pro, NotePin, NotePin S) with a companion app and AI plans
Best forIn-person meetings and lectures
PlatformsiOS, Android, web, and desktop app, plus the physical recorders
Price fromFree AI plan; devices from $159, paid AI plans from $8.33/mo billed annually
AI summariesYes, with a large template library
Works with Claude or ChatGPTYes, through the Plaud MCP server and CLI
Rating4.9 stars on the US App Store (September 2026)
Biggest drawbackA separate device to buy and charge, plus a subscription for regular use

What Is Plaud?

This Plaud AI review covers four hardware recorders: the Plaud Note, Note Pro, NotePin, and NotePin S. Plaud makes small, dedicated devices that record in-person conversations, then hand the audio to the Plaud app for transcription and AI summaries. The Note and Note Pro are credit-card-sized devices you carry or attach to your phone. The NotePin and NotePin S are wearable pins that clip on, pin to clothing, or hang as a necklace or wristband (Plaud NotePin product page). Every device supports 112 languages with speaker labels and connects to the same Plaud app and AI plans.

Plaud Key Features

  • Dedicated hardware capture: A standalone recorder, not your phone's microphone, captures in-person audio, and on the Note, Note Pro, and NotePin S, phone calls too (Plaud phone call recording).
  • Long battery life: Up to 30 hours of recording and 60 days of standby on the Note, and up to 50 hours in Endurance mode on the Note Pro (Plaud Note Pro).
  • Local storage: The Note, NotePin, and NotePin S each store up to 64 GB of audio on the device before it syncs to the app.
  • Speaker identification in 112 languages: Transcripts label who is speaking, with automatic language handling.
  • AI summaries with templates: Plaud says it offers more than 10,000 summary templates for different meeting types, plus an "Ask Plaud" assistant for questions about your recordings.
  • MCP server and CLI: Plaud now offers an official MCP server and CLI, giving ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor, and other AI tools read-only access to your recordings, transcripts, and summaries (Plaud MCP announcement).
  • Stated compliance: Plaud's product pages say its devices and app meet ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2, HIPAA, and GDPR standards (Plaud Note Pro).
  • No AI training on your content, per policy: Plaud's privacy policy states it will not use recordings to train AI models without consent, and requires the same from the AI providers it uses (Plaud Privacy Policy).

The Plaud Lineup: Note, Note Pro, NotePin, and NotePin S

Plaud Note Review

The original Plaud Note is a $159 device about as thin as two credit cards stacked, at 0.12 inches and 1.06 oz. It attaches to your phone with an included magnetic ring, records up to 30 hours on a charge, and stores up to 64 GB of audio locally (Plaud Note product page).

Plaud Note Pro Review

The Note Pro costs $189. It adds a small AMOLED display and four microphones rated to pick up sound 16.4 feet away. Battery lasts up to 50 hours of recording in its Endurance mode, or 30 hours in its higher-quality Enhance mode, and it won iF and Red Dot design awards in 2026 (Plaud Note Pro product page).

Plaud NotePin Review

The NotePin is a $159 wearable pin, necklace, or wristband, built for hands-free days. It records up to 20 hours per charge, lasts 40 days on standby, and stores up to 64 GB locally. It is the lightest device in the lineup at 0.59 oz (Plaud NotePin product page).

Plaud NotePin S Review

The NotePin S costs $179 and adds a fourth way to wear it (wristband, lanyard, magnetic pin, or clip, versus three on the standard NotePin) plus a tactile record button. Battery, standby, and storage match the standard NotePin: 20 hours recording, 40 days standby, 64 GB local storage (Plaud NotePin S product page).


Plaud Pricing (Prices Checked August 2026)

Plaud sells the recorder and the AI plan separately (Plaud pricing page).

Devices (one-time):

  • Plaud Note: $159
  • Plaud Note Pro: $189
  • Plaud NotePin: $159
  • Plaud NotePin S: $179

AI plans (billed separately from the device):

  • Starter: free, 300 transcription minutes a month, included with any device.
  • Pro: $17.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed annually, for 1,200 minutes a month.
  • Unlimited: $29.99 a month, or $19.99 a month billed annually, for unlimited minutes, up to 24 hours a day.

The free Starter plan covers light, occasional use. Anyone recording several meetings a week will likely outgrow 300 minutes and need Pro. Heavy daily users, like someone recording every client meeting, fit Unlimited.

Plaud Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Dedicated microphones built for capturing rooms and conversations, not a phone's built-in mic.
  • Long battery life: up to 50 hours of recording on the Note Pro between charges.
  • A free plan covers 300 minutes a month with any device, with no subscription required to start.
  • An official MCP server and CLI bring recordings into ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor, and similar tools.
  • Plaud's privacy policy says it will not use your recordings to train AI models without consent.

Cons

  • The device is a separate cost on top of the app, from $159 to $189 before any subscription.
  • Regular use above 300 minutes a month needs a $17.99 to $29.99 monthly plan.
  • Trustpilot reviewers report occasional hardware problems, like charging issues or damage from a drop (Trustpilot).
  • Some Trustpilot reviewers describe slow customer support responses on subscription or account issues (Trustpilot).
  • It is one more device to remember, charge, and carry, on top of the phone most people already have.

What Users Say About Plaud

Plaud holds 4.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 2,669 reviews (Trustpilot). Its companion app, "Plaud: AI Note Taker," holds 4.9 stars on the US App Store from 22,962 ratings, checked September 2026 (App Store). Praise on Trustpilot centers on transcription accuracy and how little setup the device needs. One reviewer wrote: "Loved the accuracy of notes it takes. It feels like my second brain" (Trustpilot).

An independent review at TechCrunch called the Note Pro "the thinnest AI recording device on the market" and noted it still held 55 percent battery after 15 days of mixed use. The reviewer concluded it was worth buying for someone who sits in a lot of in-person meetings (TechCrunch). The main complaints across Trustpilot reviews are about reaching customer support and occasional hardware issues like charging problems, rather than the core recording or transcription quality.

Who Should Use Plaud?

  • You should use Plaud if your most important conversations happen in person and you want a microphone built just for that job.
  • Use Plaud if you regularly need to record phone calls on an iPhone or Android phone, since Plaud documents a hardware method for both.
  • Use Plaud if you want a hands-free wearable, like the NotePin or NotePin S, instead of holding or placing a phone.
  • Use Plaud if you already work inside ChatGPT, Claude, or Cursor daily and want your recordings searchable there through its MCP connector.

Who Should Skip Plaud?

  • Skip Plaud if you do not want to buy, carry, and charge a second device. Speakwise turns the iPhone you already have into a recorder for in-person conversations, with nothing extra to buy.
  • Skip Plaud if you want to start and stop a recording from your wrist. Speakwise's Apple Watch app does that and syncs to your iPhone for transcription, while Plaud's wearable options are separate pins, clips, or pendants. Plaud users have asked for wrist recording on Plaud's own feedback board, and it is not available yet.
  • Skip Plaud if 300 free minutes a month will not cover you, and a $17.99 to $29.99 monthly plan on top of the hardware cost is more than you want to spend.
  • Skip Plaud if your conversations mostly happen on Zoom, Teams, or Google Meet. A meeting bot reaches those calls with no hardware at all, which Plaud cannot do.
  • Skip Plaud if the Trustpilot reports of slow customer support or occasional charging problems are a risk you do not want to take on a device you would depend on daily.

Plaud vs Speakwise

Plaud is a dedicated device you clip on, wear, or attach to your phone, with its own battery and storage, built for people who want a recorder that runs all day without touching their phone. Speakwise uses the iPhone and Apple Watch you already carry, so there is no separate device to buy or charge. Every Speakwise recording gets an AI summary from a template built for the job, and you can rename the speakers so the transcript and summary use real names instead of Speaker 1 and Speaker 2. You can also search a transcript and filter it by speaker, add your own notes to any recording, and export to PDF, Word, or plain text.

PlaudSpeakwise
Built forIn-person conversations, on a dedicated recorderIn-person conversations recorded on iPhone
Extra device or bot neededYes, a recorder to buy and chargeNo
Speaker identificationYes, per PlaudYes, and you can add it to a recording you already made
Wrist recordingNo Apple Watch app; the NotePin wears as a wristband, clip, or necklaceYes, start and stop recordings from your Apple Watch, synced to your iPhone for transcription
Summary templatesYes, per Plaud (more than 10,000 templates)Yes, templates for meetings, lectures, interviews, site visits, and more, each with an adjustable detail level
Rename speakersNot stated on Plaud's siteYes, rename Speaker 1 and Speaker 2, and the app offers to rewrite the summary and action items with the names
Export formatsNot stated on Plaud's sitePDF, Word, and plain text
Works offlineRecords and stores audio on the device, then syncs to the appRecords offline, transcribes when back online
Works with Claude or ChatGPTYes, through the Plaud MCP server and CLIYes, through the Speakwise connector (MCP)
Price$159 to $189 device, plus free to $19.99/mo billed annually7-day free trial ($0.00), then from $69.99/yr (about $5.83/mo)

Speaker identification is not included in every plan. When you start your free trial, pick the plan that includes it.

Pick Plaud if you need a recorder that keeps working when your phone is off or out of reach. Pick Speakwise if your conversations happen in person and you want an AI summary, real names on the transcript, and notes and exports ready to share, all from the iPhone and Apple Watch you already carry.

Plaud Alternatives

How We Reviewed Plaud

This review is based on Plaud's own product pages, pricing page, help articles, and privacy policy, plus its App Store listing, Trustpilot reviews, and independent tech press, all checked in September 2026. Prices come from Plaud's pricing page as recorded on August 28, 2026. It draws on published sources, not first-hand use of Plaud hardware by the Speakwise team. Speakwise makes a competing iPhone app, so we say plainly who each one fits best.


Frequently Asked Questions

Is Plaud worth it?

Plaud is worth it if your important conversations happen away from a screen and you want a device built just to record them. It has long battery life, wide language support, and dedicated microphones built for the job. It is a weaker deal if you rarely record in person, since you are paying for hardware and possibly a subscription on top of it.

How much does Plaud cost?

Plaud's devices cost $159 for the Note or NotePin, $179 for the NotePin S, and $189 for the Note Pro, checked on Plaud's pricing pages in August 2026. The AI plan is separate. A free Starter plan covers 300 minutes a month. Pro costs $17.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed annually, for 1,200 minutes. Unlimited costs $29.99 a month, or $19.99 a month billed annually, for unlimited minutes.

Is Plaud free?

The Plaud app and its Starter AI plan are free, and every device ships with 300 transcription minutes a month at no extra cost. The devices themselves are not free: you pay $159 to $189 once for the hardware. Going over 300 minutes a month means moving to a paid Pro or Unlimited plan.

Does Plaud work with ChatGPT or Claude?

Yes. Plaud now offers an official MCP server and CLI, which connects ChatGPT Web, Claude Desktop, Claude Code, Cursor, and several other AI tools to your Plaud recordings. Access is read-only, covering transcripts, summaries, and action items. Speakwise also connects to ChatGPT and Claude through its own MCP connector.

What is the best Plaud alternative for iPhone?

Speakwise is the closest software alternative for people who record mostly in-person conversations on an iPhone, since it needs no extra hardware to buy, carry, or charge. It uses the iPhone and Apple Watch you already have, with AI summary templates, speaker renaming, and export to PDF, Word, or plain text. For virtual meetings, a meeting bot like Fireflies or Otter is built for Zoom or Teams calls.


Final Verdict: Is Plaud Worth It?

Plaud built a genuinely useful lineup for people who want a dedicated recorder for in-person conversations. The Note Pro's battery and microphones stand out, and Plaud now offers an official MCP server and CLI that makes recordings usable inside ChatGPT and Claude with almost no setup. Reviewers on Trustpilot and at TechCrunch back this up, with complaints landing on customer support and occasional hardware issues rather than the core recording quality.

The trade-off is cost and friction. You are buying a $159 to $189 device before you spend anything on software, and regular use pushes you toward a $17.99 to $29.99 monthly plan. If you already carry an iPhone everywhere, that is a second device to charge and remember.

If you mostly record in-person conversations on your iPhone, download Speakwise from the App Store and get AI summaries, speaker names, and an Apple Watch app, with no extra hardware to buy.

Get Speakwise Free

Free to download, with a 7-day free trial ($0.00), on the App Store

Download Speakwise on the App Store

🎯 4.9★ App Store Rating | 📱 Built for iOS